Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse
Topic Based SIGs
Share |

   

African Diaspora SIG

The African Diaspora SIG seeks to foster a community of scholars and practitioners to engage with the historical contexts and contemporary educational experiences of Black communities across the globe.  A broader analysis of the educational realities of African descendants within and outside the United States offers the opportunity to review similar and different challenges, lessons, and new possibilities.

Chair: Nafees Khan, Clemson University (nkhan04@gmail.com)

Chair: Kassie Freeman, African Diaspora Consortium (ADC) (kfreeman@adcexchange.org)

Secretary: Rhonesha Blache, Teachers College, Columbia University (rhonesha.blache.rb@gmail.com)

 


 Citizenship and Democratic Education SIG

The Citizenship and Democratic Education SIG seeks to create an active community of educators and researchers, to share their views and encourage productive debate on various aspects of citizenship and democratic education, in the United States and around the world.

Chair: Michelle Bellino, University of Michigan (bellino@umich.edu)

Chair: Ehaab Abdou, McGill University (ehaab.abdou@mail.mcgill.ca)

Secretary: Erica Sausner, Pennsylvania State University (esausner@gmail.com)

Web coordinator: Merethe Skårås, Oslo and Akershus University College (merethe.skaras@hioa.no)

 


Contemplative Inquiry and Holistic Education SIG

Welcome to the Contemplative Inquiry and Holistic Education SIG!  Our SIG seeks to address holistic development and integration of learners' mind, body, and spirit through contemplative means.

Chair: Tom Culham, University of British Columbia (tom.culham@gmail.com)
Chair: Charles Scott, Simon Fraser University (charless@sfu.ca)
Secretary: Sachi Edwards, University of Maryland (sachiteresa@gmail.com)
Newsletter Coordinator: Hyeyoung Bang Professor, Bowling Green State University (
hbang@bgsu.edu)

Unit Planner: Jing Lin , University of Maryland (jinglin@umd.edu)

 


Cultural Contexts of Education and Human Potential SIG

The Cultural Contexts of Education and Human Potential SIG aims to make the case for the necessity of including the voices of individuals often unheard and to promote better understanding and learning between and about different groups. Moreover, it is also intended to demonstrate how the underutilization of the voices of different cultures has led to the underutilization of their potential.

Chair: Cristina Jaimungal, OISE/University of Toronto (c.jaimungal@mail.utoronto.ca)
Chair: Maung Nyeu, Harvard University (maung_nyeu@mail.harvard.edu)
Communications Chair: Anthony Ray, George Mason University (aray6@masonlive.gmu.edu)
Finance: Tang Tang Heng, National Institute of Education, Singapore (tangtang.heng@nie.edu.sg)


 Early Childhood Development SIG

 The Early Childhood Development SIG seeks to foster exchange & strengthen linkages between ECD research and practice; help keep members abreast of new developments in the field; build linkages among various ECD networks nationally and internationally; prepare ECD thematic sessions at the next CIES conference.


Chair: Katherine Merseth, RTI International (
kmerseth@rti.org)
Chair: Bethany Wilinski, Michigan State University (
bethanyw@msu.edu)


Economics and Finance of Education SIG

The Economics and Finance of Education-SIG (EFE-SIG) focuses on investigating, conceptualizing, and theorizing the links between Economics and Finance of Education Policies. The EFE-SIG offers a new opportunity for scholars interested in the following topics:· 

  • Redistribution, political philosophy, economics, and financing schooling systems
  • International aid and mechanisms of redistribution
  • Education finance, economics, and poverty reduction
  • Financing education and theories of justice
  • Theories of learning, knowledge and knowledge economics
  • School finance, adequacy, and equity in resource allocation
  • Equality of Educational Opportunity and its effect on society.
  • Teachers’ effectiveness, incentives and rewards
  • Charter schools and school based management
  • Higher education finance and learning networks
  • Early childhood finance
  • Special education finance
  • State competitiveness, social cohesiveness and mechanisms of reallocation

 The EFE-SIG is important as it suggests a unique perspective. We aim to contribute to the perception of Economics and Finance of Education as a global issue and not just a national issue. In addition, we highlight the importance of the EFE-SIG, as currently Education Finance issues are rarely addressed from the perspective of Comparative Education. 

Chair: Iris Ben David-Hadar, Bar Ilan University, Israel  (iris.hadar@biu.ac.il)
Chair: Lynn Llon, Seoul National University (lynnilon@snu.ac.kr)
Secretary: Ji Liu, Teacher College Columbia University (jl4103@tc.columbia.edu)
 


Education, Conflict, and Emergencies SIG


The SIG on Education, Conflict, and Emergencies brings together CIES members around a broad range of research and programmatic activities including education during armed conflict and natural disasters; educational reconstruction post-conflict and post-disaster; and the relationships between educational provision and peace-building, transitional justice, and resilience across conflict-affected, post-conflict, and fragile states.

Chair: S. Garnett Russell, Teachers College, Columbia University (
sgrussell@tc.columbia.edu)

Chair: Diana Rodriguez Gomez, Los Andes University (dm.rodriguez@uniandes.edu.co)

Secretary: Elisheva Cohen, University of Minnesota (cohen473@umn.edu)

Unit Planner: Cyril Brandt, University of Amsterdam (Brandt@uva.nl)



Environmental and Sustainability Education SIG

 The Environmental and Sustainability Education SIG promotes scholarly research and professional activities of those concerned with the intersection of education (broadly defined) and sustainable development. Specifically, the SIG explores how the discourse and practice of sustainable development affect educational institutions and how educational institutions facilitate the development of knowledge, skills, behaviors and attitudes needed for sustainable development.


Chair: Michael C. Russell, Centenary University (
russellm@centenaryuniversity.edu)

Program Chair: Dafna Gan, Kibbutzim College of Education Technology and Arts (dafna.gan@gmail.com)

Secretary: Sophy Cai, Xiamen University (caixiuying@gmail.com)

 


Global Literacy SIG

The Global Literacy SIG is organized around key issues in reading and writing instruction and assessment and larger issues and implications of literacy use throughout the world.

 


Global Mathematics Education SIG

The Global Mathematics Education SIG The purpose of the Global Mathematics Education SIG is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners from around the world to discuss theory, practices, and techniques related to mathematics learning starting in early childhood to tertiary education.


Chair: Yasmin Sitabkhan, RTI International (ysitabkhan@rti.org)
Chair: Linda Platas, San Francisco State University (lplatas@sfsu.edu)

 


Globalization and Education SIG

 The Globalization and Education SIG seeks to provide a forum where researchers and practitioners involved in global study of comparative and international education have meaningful conversations and exchanges of ideas related to globalization and education.


Chair: Chrissie Monaghan, New York University (
chrissie.monaghan@gmail.com)

Vice-Chair: Maren Elfert, University of Alberta (elfertm@shaw.ca)

Student Representative: Eric Layman            , Indiana University (ewlayman@indiana.edu)

Secretary: Clara Fontdevila, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (clara.fontdevila@gmail.com)

 


Higher Education SIG

 The Higher Education SIG serves as a networking hub for promoting scholarship opportunities, critical dialogue, and linking professionals and academics to the international aspects of higher education.


Chair: Meggan Madden, The George Washington University (
meggan_madden@email.gwu.edu)

Chair: Gerardo Blanco-Ramirez, University of Massachusetts-Boston (Gerardo.Blanco@umb.edu)

Secretary: Meseret Hailu, University of Denver (Meseret.Hailu@du.edu)

Program Chair: Christina Yao, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (cyao@unl.edu)

Program Chair Elect: Gustavo Gregorutti, Andrews University (ggregoru@andrews.edu)

Awards Committee Chair: Rebecca Clothey, Drexel University (rac52@drexel.edu)

 


ICT4D SIG

ICT4D (ICT for Development) is an outlet for members of the Comparative and International Education Society (CIES) to collaborate with, learn from, and create bonds that will heighten interest and research in this ever growing area.

Chair: Haijun Kang, Kansas State University            (hjkang@ksu.edu)

Chair: Fatima T. Zahra, University of Pennsylvania (fatimatzahra@gmail.com)

Chair: Megan Smith, IREX (megsimone611@gmail.com)

 


Inclusive Education SIG

The Inclusive Education SIG seeks to elicit the participation of scholars interested in educational issues specific to the multiple meanings of IE and, accordingly, to learners who are marginalized due to special educational needs. These might include: disabilities, second language acquisition, poverty, racial and ethnic discrimination, social exclusion, etc.


Chair: Matthew Schuelka, University of Birmingham (
m.schuelka@bham.ac.uk)
Program Chair: Kate Lapham, Open Society Foundations (
kate.lapham@opensocietyfoundations.org)

 


Indigenous Knowledge and the Academy SIG

The Indigenous Knowledge and the Academy SIG consists of CIES members, members of indigenous communities, and practitioners who want to dialogue about ways to develop alternative knowledge and how this can be used to interact with, and transform the academy.

Chair: Tutaleni I. Asino, Oklahoma State University (tutaleni.asino@okstate.edu)
Chair: Rebecca Y. Bayeck, Penn State University (
ryb105@psu.edu)

Secretary: Jennifer Fricas, Seattle University and University of Minnesota (fricasj@seattleu.edu)

 


Language Issues SIG

 The Language Issues SIG is a network of researchers and practitioners working to understand the role of language(s) in education, as well as the role of the languages of instruction in differing, and often contentious, political and cultural contexts.

Chair: Carol Benson, Teacher's College, Columbia University (benson@tc.columbia.edu)

Chair: Kevin Wong, New York University (kevinwong@nyu.edu)

Treasurer: Anna Farrell, University of Minnesota (farre223@umn.edu)

Communications (Secretary): Anna Kaiper, University of Minnesota (kaipe001@umn.edu)

Unit Planner: Kevin Carroll, University of Puerto Rico (kevin.carroll@upr.edu)

Unit Planner: Stephen Bahry, University of Toronto (stephen.bahry@gmail.com)

 


Large-Scale Cross-National Studies in Education SIG

The Large-Scale Cross-National Studies in Education SIG mission is to promote research related to large-scale cross-national studies in education. The SIG aims to bring together scholars and practitioners who are contributing to the analysis, critique, and development of large-scale assessment methods and results, as well as their implications for education policy.


Chair: Andres Sandoval-Hernandez, Bath University (
A.Sandoval@bath.ac.uk)

Chair: Laura Engel, George Washington University (lce@gwu.edu)

 


Peace Education SIG

The Peace Education SIG brings together members of the Comparative and International Education Society with common interests in the study of peace and conflict, human rights, and social justice in education.

Chair: Maria Hantzopoulos,Vassar College (mahantzopoulos@vassar.edu)
Chair: Tina Robiolle, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University (
tina.robiolle@gmail.com)
Communications Officer: Marios Antoniou, Teachers2Teachers-International (
antonioumarios@outlook.com)

 


Post-Foundational Approaches to Comparative and International Education SIG

The SIG was initiated to provide a dedicated space for comparative education scholars at all career stages interesting in sharing work that draws upon post-structural approaches to social theory. Whilst Foucault is already an important reference point for many CIES members the SIG also encourages engagement with other leading voices that are less audible within CIE (e.g. Agamben, Baudrillard, Butler, Derrida, Deleuze, Lacan, Rancière, Mbembe and Lather to name but a few). Recognizing that theory itself might be viewed as a constraining metanarrative, the SIG also takes inspiration from alternative intellectual horizons that might include mysticism, indigenous knowledges and Eastern religions. In this sense, the SIG is an invitation to work with, problematize and celebrate difference in social life, using this to inspire and regenerate the field of CIE.

Chair: Jonathan Friedman, New York University (j.friedman@nyu.edu)
Chair: Susanne Ress, Humboldt University Berlin (
susanne.ress@hu-berlin.de)

Chair: Chenyu Wang, Virginia University (cw6bc@virginia.edu)

Secretary: Christoph Kirchgasler, University of Kansas (ckirchgasler@ku.edu)

 


Religion and Education SIG

Religion and Education SIG is a newly established SIG for the purpose of comparatively explore the links between education and religion across national, historical, and civilizational contexts. The SIG will foster an interdisciplinary dialogue and international collaboration focusing on the implications from the study of education-religion links for all fields of educational research and practice.

Our key areas of focus include:

·       Religion in Secular Schools;

·       Religion in Religious Schools;

·       Security and Religious Extremism; and,

·       Religious Education Curriculum around the World.Chair: 

Bruce Collet, Bowling Green State University (colleba@bgsu.edu)
Chair: Alice Chan, McGill University (
alice.chan@mail.mcgill.ca)
Secretary:  Tiffany Boury, Franciscan University (
tboury@franciscan.edu)


Teacher Education and the Teaching Profession SIG

The Teacher Education and the Teaching Profession SIG facilitates dissemination of information and fosters dialogues about critical issues in teaching and teacher education from national and international perspectives. Teachers/teacher educators/researchers are given an opportunity and a framework for discourse on issues, concerns, and successes pertaining to teaching and the teaching profession in each country.


Chair: Gerardo Aponte-Martinez, Michigan State University (
apontege@msu.edu)
Vice-Chair: Susan Wiksten, University of California Los Angeles (
wiksten@gseis.ucla.edu)
Program Chair: Syd Merz, (
smerz2009@gmail.com)
Secretary: Molly Hamm, University of Colorado, Boulder (
mollymhamm@gmail.com)

Membership Chair: Sarah Lillo, University of Southern California (sarahlil@usc.edu)

Webmaster: Rachel A. Jones, Michigan State University (jonesr42@msu.edu)

 


Teaching Comparative Education SIG

The Teaching Comparative Education SIG brings together scholars and instructors of comparative and international education from around the world. It is dedicated to understanding and enhancing the contours of course work in the field and promoting comparative and international education in higher education.


Chair: Jacqueline Mosselson, University of Massachusetts Amherst (jrm@umass.edu)
Vice- Chair: Matthew A.M. Thomas, University of Sydney (matthew.thomas@sydney.edu.au)
Secretary/Treasurer: Paula Kornakova, International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA) (
p.korsnakova@iea.nl)

Communications Officer: Anne Campbell, Middlebury Institute of International Studies (accampbell@miis.edu)

 


Youth Development and Education SIG

The Youth Development and Education SIG provides a forum for researchers and practitioners involved in the global study of comparative and international education to debate and exchanges ideas related to youth development and secondary education. 

Chair: David Balwanz, University of Johannesburg (dbalwanz@gmail.com)
Chair: Arushi Terway, Senior Lead Research Associate, NORRAG (
at2743@tc.columbia.edu

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal